

# The IUGG Electronic Journal

Volume 11 No. 7A (18 July 2011)

### **Special Issue**

This special issue of the IUGG E-Journal is being sent to the addresses used for previous issues. Over the next few weeks, the distribution lists will be reviewed and revised and will include the new IUGG Association Officers and Council Delegates from the Melbourne General Assembly. This short, informal newsletter is intended to keep IUGG Member National Committees informed about the activities of the IUGG Associations, and actions of the IUGG Secretariat. Past issues are posted on the IUGG Web site. The E-Journal may be forwarded to anyone who will benefit from the information. Comments are welcome and should be sent to the Secretary General.

# **Contents**

- 1. IUGG Bureau members for 2011-2015
- 2. IUGG Finance Committee members for 2011-2015
- 3. Association Presidents and Secretaries General for 2011-2015
- 4. Location of the 2015 IUGG General Assembly
- 5. Union Commission Officers for 2011-2015
- 6. Resolutions

#### 1. IUGG Bureau members for 2011-2015

President: Harsh Gupta (India)

Vice President: Michael Sideris (Canada)

Secretary General: Alik Ismail-Zadeh (Germany/Russia)

Treasurer: Aksel W. Hansen (Denmark)

Bureau Members: Isabelle J. Ansorge (South Africa), Pierre Hubert (France), Kenji Satake (Japan)

#### 2. IUGG Finance Committee members for 2011-2015

The new Finance Committee Members are David Collins (U.K.), Zoltan Hajnal (Canada), Jan Krynski (Poland), David Rhoades (New Zealand).

The Committee selected David Collins as their Chair.

# 3. Association Presidents and Secretaries General for 2011-2015

The officers of the Union Associations are reported below.

# **International Association of Cryospheric Sciences**

President: Ian Allison (Australia)

President-elect: Charles Fierz (Switzerland)

Secretary General: Andrew Mackintosh (New Zealand)

# **International Association of Geodesy**

President: Chris Rizos (Australia)

Secretary General: Hermann Drewes (Germany)

# International Association of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy

President: Kathryn Whaler (UK)

Secretary General: Mioara Mandea (France)

# **International Association of Hydrological Sciences**

President: Gordon Young (Canada)

President-elect: Hubert Savenije (The Netherlands) Secretary General: Christophe Cudennec (France)

# **International Association of Meteorology and Atmospheric Sciences**

President: Athena Coustenis (France)

Secretary General: Hans Volkert (Germany)

### **International Association for the Physical Sciences of the Oceans**

President: Eugene Morozov (Russia) Secretary General: Johan Rodhe (Sweden)

# International Association of Seismology and Physics of the Earth's Interior

President: Domenico Giardini (Switzerland) Secretary General: Peter Suhadolc (Italy)

### International Association of Volcanology and Chemistry of the Earth's Interior

President: Ray Cas (Australia)

Secretary General: Joan Marti (Spain)

### 4. Location of the 2015 IUGG General Assembly

The IUGG Council selected *Prague (Czech Republic)* as the site of the 2015 IUGG General Assembly. The dates of the XXVIth IUGG General Assembly will be announced as soon as possible, but June-July is most likely.

# 5. Union Commission Officers for 2011-2015

The officers of the Union Commissions are reported below.

### **Union Commission on Data and Information (UCDI)**

Chair: Peter Fox (USA)

Secretary General: Adelina Geyer Traver (Spain)

## Union Commission on Geophysical Risk and Sustainability (GeoRisk)

Chair: Kuniyoshi Takeuchi (Japan)

Secretary General: Diana Greenslade (Australia)

# **Union Commission on Mathematical Geophysics (CMG)**

Chair: Yehuda Ben Zion (USA)

Secretary General: Claudia Pasquero (Italy)

# **Union Commission on Studies of Earth's Deep Interior (SEDI)**

Chair: Satoru Tanaka (Japan)

Secretary General: Michael Bergman (USA)

#### 6. Resolutions

The Council approved 5 Resolutions as listed below. The text of the Resolutions will be posted on the IUGG Website as soon as possible.

- Standardized Schemes for the Terminology for Glacier Mass Balance Measurements and for Classification of Snow on the Ground
- Gravity and Magnetic Field Satellite Missions
- Second Realization of the International Celestial Reference Frame
- Adoption of the International Thermodynamic Equation of Seawater 2010 (TEOS-10)
- A Resolution of Thanks

End of IUGG Electronic Journal Volume 11 Number 7A (18 July 2011)

A.T. Ismail-Zadeh, Secretary General (<a href="http://www.IUGG.org">http://www.IUGG.org</a>)
E-mail: Alik.Ismail-Zadeh@kit.edu Fax: +49 721 71173.

Note: Contributions to IUGG E-Journal are welcome from members of the IUGG family. Please send your contributions to Alik Ismail-Zadeh by e-mail (insert in Subject line: *contribution to E-Journal*). The contributions will be reviewed and may be shortened by the Editor.